Nations Geo

Oceania Continent

🌎Oceania 2023

On the Oceania continent there are 14 sovereign countries and 9 territories/dependencies , according to the United Nations.

Countries:There are fourteen sovereign country on the Oceania continent.
Territories and Dependencies:There are only nine territories or dependencies in Oceania.
Area:8,525,989.00 km² (5,298,936.61 mi²).
Area Text:Eight million five hundred twenty-five thousand nine hundred eighty-nine km²
(Five million two hundred ninety-eight thousand nine hundred thirty-seven mi²).

Countires of Oceania

There are fourteen sovereign countries on the Oceania continent with independent central governments, and the list of countries may change over time depending on local politics.

CountryISO 3166-1RegionRegion WB
AustraliaAUOceania › Australia and New ZealandEast Asia & Pacific
Federated States of MicronesiaFMOceania › MicronesiaEast Asia & Pacific
FijiFJOceania › MelanesiaEast Asia & Pacific
KiribatiKIOceania › MicronesiaEast Asia & Pacific
Marshall IslandsMHOceania › MicronesiaEast Asia & Pacific
NauruNROceania › MicronesiaEast Asia & Pacific
New ZealandNZOceania › Australia and New ZealandEast Asia & Pacific
PalauPWOceania › MicronesiaEast Asia & Pacific
Papua New GuineaPGOceania › MelanesiaEast Asia & Pacific
SamoaWSOceania › PolynesiaEast Asia & Pacific
Solomon IslandsSBOceania › MelanesiaEast Asia & Pacific
TongaTOOceania › PolynesiaEast Asia & Pacific
TuvaluTVOceania › PolynesiaEast Asia & Pacific
VanuatuVUOceania › MelanesiaEast Asia & Pacific

Territories/Dependencies in Oceania

CountryISO 3166-1RegionRegion WB
American SamoaASOceania › PolynesiaEast Asia & Pacific
Cook IslandsCKOceania › PolynesiaEast Asia & Pacific
French PolynesiaPFOceania › PolynesiaEast Asia & Pacific
GuamGUOceania › MicronesiaEast Asia & Pacific
New CaledoniaNCOceania › MelanesiaEast Asia & Pacific
NiueNUOceania › PolynesiaEast Asia & Pacific
Northern Mariana IslandsMPOceania › MicronesiaEast Asia & Pacific
TokelauTKOceania › PolynesiaEast Asia & Pacific
Wallis and FutunaWFOceania › PolynesiaEast Asia & Pacific

Countries partly exist in Oceania

There are 2 countries in Oceania, but they do not officially belong to Oceania. As you can see in the table below, these countries belong to another continent.

CountryISO 3166-1Sub RegionRegion WB
IndonesiaIDSouth-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
United StatesUSNorthern AmericaNorth America