Nations Geo

Asia Continent

🌎Asia 2023

On the Asia continent there are 48 sovereign countries and 2 territories/dependencies , according to the United Nations.

Countries:There are forty-eight sovereign country on the Asia continent.
Territories and Dependencies:There are only two territories or dependencies in Asia.
Area:44,579,000.00 km² (27,706,028.59 mi²).
Area Text:Forty-four million five hundred seventy-nine thousand km²
(Twenty-seven million seven hundred six thousand twenty-nine mi²).

Countires of Asia

There are forty-eight sovereign countries on the Asia continent with independent central governments, and the list of countries may change over time depending on local politics.

CountryISO 3166-1RegionRegion WB
AfghanistanAFAsia › Southern AsiaSouth Asia
ArmeniaAMAsia › Western AsiaEurope & Central Asia
AzerbaijanAZAsia › Western AsiaEurope & Central Asia
BahrainBHAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
BangladeshBDAsia › Southern AsiaSouth Asia
BhutanBTAsia › Southern AsiaSouth Asia
BruneiBNAsia › South-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
CambodiaKHAsia › South-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
ChinaCNAsia › Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
East TimorTLAsia › South-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
GeorgiaGEAsia › Western AsiaEurope & Central Asia
IndiaINAsia › Southern AsiaSouth Asia
IndonesiaIDAsia › South-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
IranIRAsia › Southern AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
IraqIQAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
IsraelILAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
JapanJPAsia › Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
JordanJOAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
KazakhstanKZAsia › Central AsiaEurope & Central Asia
KuwaitKWAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
KyrgyzstanKGAsia › Central AsiaEurope & Central Asia
LaosLAAsia › South-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
LebanonLBAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
MalaysiaMYAsia › South-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
MaldivesMVAsia › Southern AsiaSouth Asia
MongoliaMNAsia › Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
MyanmarMMAsia › South-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
NepalNPAsia › Southern AsiaSouth Asia
North KoreaKPAsia › Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
OmanOMAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
PakistanPKAsia › Southern AsiaSouth Asia
PalestinePSAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
PhilippinesPHAsia › South-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
QatarQAAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
Saudi ArabiaSAAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
SingaporeSGAsia › South-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
South KoreaKRAsia › Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
Sri LankaLKAsia › Southern AsiaSouth Asia
SyriaSYAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
TaiwanTWAsia › Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
TajikistanTJAsia › Central AsiaEurope & Central Asia
ThailandTHAsia › South-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
TurkeyTRAsia › Western AsiaEurope & Central Asia
TurkmenistanTMAsia › Central AsiaEurope & Central Asia
United Arab EmiratesAEAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa
UzbekistanUZAsia › Central AsiaEurope & Central Asia
VietnamVNAsia › South-Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
YemenYEAsia › Western AsiaMiddle East & North Africa

Territories/Dependencies in Asia

CountryISO 3166-1RegionRegion WB
Hong KongHKAsia › Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific
MacauMOAsia › Eastern AsiaEast Asia & Pacific

Countries partly exist in Asia

There are 3 countries in Asia, but they do not officially belong to Asia. As you can see in the table below, these countries belong to another continent.

CountryISO 3166-1Sub RegionRegion WB
CyprusCYWestern AsiaEurope & Central Asia
EgyptEGNorthern AfricaMiddle East & North Africa
RussiaRUEastern EuropeEurope & Central Asia